A New Year!

1 01 2010

Happy New Year, peeps!

I don’t make resolutions because I try to set goals for myself throughout the year. This year however, I have decided on a question;

“How will that look in our new house?”

You see, The Girl and I would like to buy a house in the near future. As much as we love living in our current pad, the time will come to move into a home of our own. If the landlord has her way, that won’t be anytime soon. She is a sweet elderly woman and she has come to rely on us to take care of things. Recently she hurt her back so in addition to replacing all the batteries in the smoke detectors, moving lawn furniture in and out of the shed and shoveling the snow off the porch, we have begun to do her food shopping and picking up her prescriptions for her. We don’t mind at all and we are both happy we are here to help her out.

The lady that lived her before us did nothing.

The landlord asked us not to move and honestly, I don’t think we would feel right if we did. As much as I hate to see it happen, I think assisted living is in her near future. Until then, we will stay put.

So back to the question of the year. I have begun to ask both myself and TG this simple question as a way to gauge the necessity of the item we are about to buy. Let me give you an example;

TG: I want to buy myself a new school bag.

Me: What’s wrong with the school bags you have now?

TG: Nothing, I would really just like to have a new one.

Me: How do you think that new school bag will look in our new house?

TG: You know what? The bags I have work just fine! I don’t need a new one!

Easy peasy! This will go for our wedding too. We have no interest in spending a ton of money on a big elaborate affair. It’s not our style anyway…

What do you have in mind for 2010?

Actions

Information

9 responses

1 01 2010
Mrs. Chili

You are wicked smaht.

Can I put in a request that the place you land for good be within easy visiting distance. I really, really want to see more of you both, but I understand that our current geographical distance makes that somewhat of a challenge (for those of you who don’t know, an hour visit requires a block of at least three to include commuting).

I love you both very, very much.

3 01 2010
Auntie

We love you too! Housing will depend on price, distance from work, and school system. For example, Bubba Ville on the border would be great for the first two, but there is no way in hell I am sending our kids to those schools!

3 01 2010
twoblueday

You know, I’ve always felt like the Grinch because of my opinions that costly weddings (except, I suppose, for the wealthy) were pretty much a waste of limited resources for a family. Hey, you wanna spend 50K on my wedding, just give me the damn money!

Oh, where was I, oh yeah, much love to you both.

3 01 2010
Auntie

I am with you, Gerry. The Girls sister had a big fancy wedding and she told TG the other day that if she had it to do over, it would be much smaller. Neither of us want to spend a lot of cash.

3 01 2010
twoblueday

Oh, I forgot, not everybody is getting a wedding bought and paid for by parents, don’t throw away your money, save for something important.

If you got married in a park with baked beans, grilled franks, and ants and all it would be wonderful, and I’d love to be there (not that I’m invited, nor am I pimping, just sayin’ how nice it would be).

3 01 2010
Auntie

You know, I wanted an outdoor thing. I had visions of a clam bake. Then I remembered Chili’s shellfish issues. No clam bake for me.

As for the wedding, it’s going to be supper small. We are having an engagement party in the summer and you and yours are for sure on the guest list! Thanks for wanting to be there. It means a lot to both of us!

3 01 2010
twoblueday

My plans for 2010 are still, shall we say, in the formative stage except for one:

I plan on loving the people I love better than I loved ’em last year!

3 01 2010
Auntie

NICE!! Mind if I steal that one from you?

5 01 2010
Grammar Snob

This year I am full of resolutions. Most of them are just simple things that when done, make my life much easier. Being more present in the moment.

I’m thrilled for you and your upcoming nuptials. I’ve helped plan a small intimate (CHEAP) wedding and it is totally possible for it to be everything you want without breaking your bank account. I

Leave a Reply

