Checking In

13 02 2009

 I am finding it rather difficult to blog lately. I am busy with work and school. My school program does not require us to take tests, instead we write papers to demonstrate that we have learned what we have been taught. As a consequence, we write a lot. By the time I am done writing my papers I don’t have the energy to write blog posts.

 I hope you understand.

 Anyway, here is a brief glimpse into my life lately;

img_0195

  •  I took this photo on Wednesday. I love how 57 degrees feels so nice after months of freezing weather. I took my coat off at 10 am and didn’t put it on for the rest of the day. Sweet relief. According to my client who works at a coffee shop, ice coffee sales shot up on Wednesday. I drink ice coffee no matter what the temperature is because I am a true New Englander. The rest are slackers.
  •  Wednesday was a really good day for me work wise, I ended up getting my client the deal of a lifetime. She has been “on the run” for the last two weeks but I know where she is. I talked to her probation officer and asked her what she wanted to do with the client.

 “I am asking for a split.” She said. 

 What that means is she does half of her time in jail and then she would be released to a program. I knew the kid had at least a year hanging over her and I felt like that was a craptastic deal. I didn’t say so with words but the expression on my face must have made it very clear.

“You don’t like that do you?

“Not one bit.”

“OK. If she turns herself in within the week she  I will place her as soon as possible.”

 Usually she makes them stay in jail for a month. The best I ever got was two weeks. 

“Can you place her by Friday?”

“Auntie, she has to be held until the next session of drug court.”

“Fine, I’ll let her know.”

“If she doesn’t turn herself in within the week then the deal is off and she does the split.”

 So I go and see the kid and tell her the deal. Turns out that she has three years hanging over her. She said she is willing to take the deal but she was apprehensive of it. I told her that she had two choices; she can do less than six days in jail or a year and a half. Kind of a no brainer. I really hope she is still willing when I go to pick her up this afternoon.

 6__1234463895_4852

  •  Pitchers and catchers reported yesterday!!! I can’t wait for the season to begin. I actually want to go down and see a spring training game with Mr. Chili but the flights are kinda pricey. I need to talk to him and see what he thinks. 
  •  Bean asked me to take her roller skating and I need to get on that. The roller place doesn’t have a web site so I have no idea when they are open. I would really love to take her Monday…
  •  Our professor was supposed to email us some assignments on Monday. On Tuesday we got an email that said she was having computer issues and she would try to get them out by Wednesday. Me being the smart ass that I am, emailed her this reply;

 “Your computer ate our homework?! That’s funny!”

  She replied that it was funny but she wasn’t laughing. We still have not gotten our assignments.  

  •  This weekend I am going to do laundry, (hopefully) getting my hair did, homework, dinner/ see Rock Star sing with the peeps, and more homework.

 What are you doing?

Photo credit

Actions

Information

4 responses

13 02 2009
twoblueday

Glad you found time to post, I look in here hopefully every day . . .

Have I ever said it makes me feel good that you actually care what happens to your clients?

Even though our freezy weather is brief and mild my comparison, our warmup of the last several days has been welcome. Even dripped a little sweat in Disney yesterday.

13 02 2009
morgan

I understand about you not feeling like posting, but I like reading your blog because you make me laugh. I hope you have a great weekend.

I’m leaving this afternoon for California to spend the weekend at Disneyland with family and friends. I’m very excited!

13 02 2009
Mrs. Chili

Monday will very likely work out well. Call me and we’ll make something happen…

13 02 2009
Auntie

You have never said that, TBD. Thank you.

Have fun in California, Morgan!

Leave a Reply

