TTT

13 01 2009

 I haven’t done a Ten Things Tuesday in awhile.  Here are ten winterish things.

1. I love the snow. I love to play in it, I love the way it looks. I even love to shovel it (when my back is happy) because it is a great work out.

2. Let me clarify. I love the way fresh snow looks. Dirty brown city snow is yucky.

3. Car poop makes me crazy. I’m not sure why it makes me crazy. Every time I get out of my car, I walk around to every wheel well and kick the car poop off.

4. Have you ever noticed the way it sounds when it snows? There is this weird silence going on that is absolutely amazing. I love the peacefulness that comes with the snowfall. 

5. The bitter cold I can do without. Anything under 15 degrees is just plain stupid and should be banned. Thursday the cold is moving in to these parts and by Friday they are predicting single digits for the daytime high. There is just no need of that. I am thinking about starting a petition to ban that shit. Let me know if you would like to sign.

6. I remember when I bought my first new car. The salesman asked me if I wanted the cold weather package that included a heavy duty battery and some other shit that I can’t remember. I told him no. If it was that fucking cold out and my car won’t start, then I have no business being outside anyway.

7.  Snow people!

img_14291

 She is from last year. The snow has been to fluffy to make one this year.

8. Parking in the Scary City suck in the winter. Well, it sucks all the time but in the winter it is worse. The narrow streets become more narrow and end up being filled with pedestrians because the city does a very bad job of clearing the sidewalks. As a side note, I would like to give a shout out to the bus drivers. How those people maneuver those big busses down those narrow streets I have no clue. They have mad driving skills. 

9. Winter sports. I love to ski but I haven’t in a few years. Anybody want to go skiing with me this year?

10. Baseball. Even though my beloved sport isn’t played in the winter, there is a lot going on.  I wait in anticipation to see who the Sox will let go and who they will sign. Rocco Baldelli from the Rays has signed on with the Sox. I really like him. Spring training starts in less than two months! Last night I was checking out spring training travel packages. I would love to head down to Florida in March to take in a couple of games but I am not sure if I will be able to make it happen. Sigh.

 Your thoughts on winter?

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 01 2009
Mrs. Chili

OH MY GOD! I think the aversion to car poop (we call them “car turds” in the Chili household) must be genetic! I do the SAME THING!! I’ll even stop at the bottom of my driveway – on the road – and get out to kick the turds off so they don’t melt in my garage! TOO funny!

I like the sound of snow blowing against my bedroom windows when I’m warm under the covers.

I’ve already sent a letter of complaint to the Universe about the cold, but it must have been lost in the system, because I get no reply. I keep saying I don’t mind the snow so much, it’s the stupid fucking cold I can do without. When it’s too cold to let the kids wait for the bus because they risk frostbite, it’s too fucking cold. Send over your petition; I’ll totally sign that.

I think that there should be a rule that if it’s too cold for your car to start (or your garage door freezes to the floor), you should be exempt from having to go out at all.

13 01 2009
Heather G.

I am unfamiliar with car poop? WTF?

13 01 2009
Auntie

Mrs. G, more snow is coming this week. I’ll post a picture of car poop asap.

Leave a Reply

