Happy Thanksgiving

27 11 2008

 

9231201

 Wishing you all a Happy Thanksgiving! I hope your families are nice to you!

 If I have any Native American readers, I would like to apologise for what my ancestors did to your ancestors. This happens to be my least favorite holiday because of the atrocities committed against the native people of this country. Auntie Teachers BIL is Native American and every year I apologise to him. Every year he says that it is ok. I’m thankful for that.

 

Photo credit

Actions

Information

8 responses

27 11 2008
Mrs. Chili

You know, according to SOME people, this remorse we feel about the holiday (because I feel it, too) just marks us as pussy liberals and “insufferable malcontents.”

Sigh.

I can’t wait to see you this morning. I brought that book home from Local U.; don’t forget to take it back with you.

I love you.

27 11 2008
Kizz

Some of my people actually came over on the Mayflower so they probably had a hand in the first Thanksgiving and in the hell the Pilgrims rained down after. “Thanks for dinner and for saving our lives now GETAWAY!”

This year please apologize for me too.

And eat lots of gravy.

27 11 2008
drtombibey

Hey guys,

I am thankful for my blessings, but 100% agree with you about atrocities against Native Americans.

As Indie says in the book, “Unless your peope are Native American, you came here from somewhere else.”

Dr. B

27 11 2008
twoblueday

Happy Thanksgiving to you.

My people came here from somewhere else, as undocumented immigrants.

I bought a T shirt which shows some Native Americans and says “Fighting Terrorism since 1492.”

27 11 2008
twoblueday

My late mother was convinced that her people came on the Mayflower. I took her to Plimoth to see the Rock (which is entirely unprepossessing), the Mayflower “replica” (nobody has any idea what the original looked like), and look at the little museum. There is a name on the ship’s passenger list which is one of our family names. Does that prove anything? No. Have I done further research? No. Truly, I don’t care one way or the other. On the other hand, Mom went to her grave believing this, and it may very well have been true, so there.

My favorite site in Plimoth is the cemetery up on the hill.

27 11 2008
Laurie B

My favorite place in Plimoth is the restaurant that makes that fantastic lobster pie. Happy Thanksgiving everybody.

29 11 2008
twoblueday

I think that lobster pie put most of those people in that cemetery.

29 11 2008
O'mama

I came, I saw, I conquered mercilessly, let’s eat about sums it up, eh?

I think shame AND gratitude should be felt in equal measures.

🙂

Leave a Reply

