So, I Went To The Bank Yesterday..

2 11 2008

Emily POST

Emily POST!

 

..and Bank Lady says hello as she opens the drive up thingie. I put my stuff in, say hi back and get to the business of checking my email on my phone. 

“How are you today?”

 It is absolutely amazing to me how fast the human brain works. In the fraction of a second it took me to respond, I thought, hey! she is striking up a conversation with me!  As I began my response my eyes quickly checked her left hand. No ring!

“I am very well, thank you. How are you?”

“I’m good. Tired though.”

“Did you go out last night?”

“Yeah, I went to a club.”

“That’s cool. Did you have a good time?”

“It was ok. Kind of a let down.”

No response from me because I am so fucking smooth.

“What did you do last night?”

Great! She wants to know what I did? I did nothing! I stayed home on a Friday night and now I have to say so. I could lie.. No I can’t.

“I stayed home.”

Loser! Think! Think!

“I had school work to do.” I quickly added.

“I should have stayed home to do my school work.”

I chuckled and said “I’m going out with my friends next weekend.”

See? Just because I stayed home last night doesn’t mean I am boring and I have no life!

“That’s cool!”

“Yeah, I haven’t been out in a while, it might get ugly!”

She laughed, gave me my receipt and said “Have fun next weekend!”

 I thanked her and went on my way. Of course, there was a million questions running through my head. Was she just being friendly or was she flirting? Gay or straight? Ugh! How is it I find myself in these situations?!

 At any rate, I will be going back to that bank next week.

 

 

Photo credit


Actions

Information

6 responses

2 11 2008
Laurie B

Ya’know, change happens at the bank. OK, bad joke.

Our bank ladies are all very nice and fun to chat with too. Good luck with your next visit.

2 11 2008
MST

I say tell her where we’re going next week, and ask if she’s heard of it. If yes, well, then she received the initiation toaster. If no, we’ll have to dig a little deeper. Either way, throw in the nonchalant “You should come with your friends” invitation. hmmm…what ever happenned to laundromat lady?

2 11 2008
Heather G.

I can’t comment because I’m still laughing at Laurie B’s joke.

2 11 2008
Auntie

MST, laundry mat lady showed up with her boyfriend a few weeks ago. See! That’s why I get so damned confused! She flashed me a cute smile several times but it turns out she has a boyfriend! They looked happy together so that’s cool.

2 11 2008
gerry rosser

Would Emily Post approve of flirting by a bank teller?

I myself do not feel enslaved to posting every day, or at all.

3 11 2008
Kizz

You’re so good at recognizing what it is in the moment. I’d have nodded and smiled and then 8 blocks down the road realized what an opportunity I missed. Crap!

Leave a Reply

