But the really right answer is, what if he is?

19 10 2008

I just watched Meet the Press. Mr. Powell said something that I think needs to be said more often;

 “…I’m also troubled by, not what Senator McCain says, but what members of the party say. And it is permitted to be said such things as, “Well, you know that Mr. Obama is a Muslim.” Well, the correct answer is, he is not a Muslim, he’s a Christian.  He’s always been a Christian.  But the really right answer is, what if he is?  Is there something wrong with being a Muslim in this country? The answer’s no, that’s not America.  Is there something wrong with some seven-year-old Muslim-American kid believing that he or she could be president?  Yet, I have heard senior members of my own party drop the suggestion, “He’s a Muslim and he might be associated terrorists.” This is not the way we should be doing it in America….”

 I actually clapped when I heard him say this.

Actions

Information

11 responses

19 10 2008
Kizz

Great minds. I just posted a couple of links to this endorsement, too. Beautifully said. I don’t know what took him so long but I’m glad he finally spoke out. I really respect him and I think (I hope) other people do too.

19 10 2008
Jules

Oh, I SO agree! Of course it will be a momentous happening if a person of color is elected president, but I’m waiting for an agnostic to be president. I think it would be more difficult for a non-Christian to get elected than a person of color or even a woman.

20 10 2008
Heather G.

Yes!

20 10 2008
mrschili

I have always had ENORMOUS respect for Colin Powell, and my dearest wish is that he is appointed for a position in an Obama administration. I was heartsick when he left his post under Bush (though I applauded his reasons for leaving) because I felt – and continue to feel – that the country needs his level-headed honesty and his no-nonsense (but non-cowboy) approach to foreign policy.

20 10 2008
nhfalcon

One of the women at work mentioned that she is voting for Obama, and my boss immediately went off on her (gee, I wonder who my boss is voting for?).

“What’s wrong with Obama?” the woman asked.

First words out of my bosses mouth?

“Well, 1) he’s a Muslim.”

First thought that ran through my head? Not ‘No, he isn’t.’

‘So what if he is?’ was the first thought that ran through my head, even though I knew he wasn’t.

I know, shocking, isn’t it? Here I am, voting for McCain, and I’m defending Obama.

What is the world coming to? 🙂

20 10 2008
twoblueday

Maybe Mr. Obama’s mother wears army boots.
Maybe Mr. McCain’s mother wears army boots.

Jesus Fucking Christ.

20 10 2008
Organic Mama

Interesting that we continue to be straightjacketed by stereotypes – ok THEY are. Bravo to Mr. Powell for working to take the bullshit out of the conversation, the ENDLESS conversation about crediting and discrediting folks for anything other than competence and incompetence.

I’d love to see a Jewish President; I am not sure this country will ever be ready, but I would like to think it could happen.

20 10 2008
twoblueday

I’d just like a President who actually takes the job because of a desire to do” public service” instead of “service the public.”

He could even be a Voodoo houngan for all I care.

21 10 2008
Organic Mama

Oh, TwoBlue I am all for competence, nay EXCELLENCE, but I would love to live long enough for A Jewish President who ALSO happens to possess the mandatory requirements, with a lot of charisma, for the job well with, yes, a commitment to serve. This campaign very much aside, I’d like to think the world could handle Jews in the US’s highest office, but the religion question is a consistent stone in the craw.

At this point, I just want competence, and integrity. Come on, people, Is that too much to ask?

21 10 2008
nhfalcon

Oh, I don’t know, I don’t think I’d mind if Palin “serviced” me…

Sorry, couldn’t resist. 🙂

21 10 2008
Auntie

I agree O’mama, that it would be nice to have a Jewish president. Or a Muslim or agnostic. I am all about diversity. Unfortunately, I don’t think it will happen anytime soon.

Nhfalcon, I am the first to point out when Obama says something that isn’t true. I guess you could say that when I do, I am defending McCain. Really, I just want them both to tell the truth. As far as being “serviced” by Palin, I would so pass. Although I enjoy a good service, I prefer it to be by a woman I think is smart. She does nothing for me except make me shake my head in disbelief.

Leave a Reply

