New Digs

3 09 2008

  Well, I got one office put together. Kinda. Since I didn’t get a chance to follow up with the IT guy yesterday, I arrived to an email saying he couldn’t meet me at 8:30 because he had a meeting. He did end up coming to the office and I hauled both computers to the new site. He said he would come by later to hook them up to the network. He never showed.

 I rescheduled my jail group for tomorrow in hopes I could get both offices put together. I got mine mostly put together. The furniture is assembled and most of the stuff is put away. I still have some stuff from the old office to bring over. I think that I could have put both offices together but my phone was ringing off the hook. Here is a snippet;

“Hi Auntie, it’s Ms. Probation.”

“Hey Ms. Probation! What’s up?” I already saw her in her office earlier in the day so I had no clue why she was calling again. Usually it means one of my clients did something bad.

“I have Back In Jail Girl downstairs in holding. Is there any way you can help me get her placed in either the shelter or your holding?”

“Sure, when do you want her to go?”

“Today?”

“Ms. Probation!??”

“I know Auntie, I am sorry.”

“You call the shelter. Good luck with that because the coordinator is on vacation. I’ll see what I can do here. I’ll call you back in a few.”

 From there I go into admissions and sit down with a smile on my face. I really try to lay it on thick with these people because I think it increases my chances of getting my kids placed. Admissions Girl was on to me right away.

“Who now Auntie?”

“Back In Jail Girl.”

“Oh God!” She said with a sigh while leaning back in her chair. “When?”

“Today?”

“Auntie!”

“I know! Ms. Probation just called me.”

 I called Ms. Probation back and told her she could come.

“Great! I’ll bring her by around 3!”

“I was really hoping you wern’t going to ask me to come and get her!”

 If not for the above scene, I think I could have put together my co-workers office too. Then I was asked a great question by one of the case managers;

“Why isn’t he putting his own office together?!”

 I have no idea.

 Really all I wanted to convey in this post was my sadness in moving. Observe the following picture from my old office window;

 Sorry about the screen. I couldn’t be bothered to open it. See how nice the view is? There are hay and corn fields to the left and right. The air smells good and it makes for a lovely walk. Oh, and see the flag? It’s new. I went to the program manager last month and told her that the tatered flag we had up was a disgrce and should be replaced. I was happy to see she took my advice.

 This is the view from my new office;

 Sorry about the screen… This picture actually makes it look a lot better than it is. The new office is in one of the worst neighborhoods in the city. The good news is that although my new office is small, it is cute and I don’t have to share it. Oh! And the best part is that the cook already set me up with my own stash of chocolate and I get a free lunch! All I gotta do is let him know so he makes enough. Too bad I am not around much for lunch.

Actions

Information

3 responses

3 09 2008
mrschili

Seriously? I LOVE the conversations you have in your day to day life – and you write them EXACTLY as you tell them in stories – I can actually hear the conversations – which is no small literary feat. I dig that about you.

So, the Universe is craving balance on your office thing, huh? That’s okay.

4 09 2008
twoblueday

I think the screes in both offices are equally fine as views.

5 09 2008
Organic Mama

Sorry to hear you’re sad about the move – that was a great view, but it sounds as if you have some perks in your new digs, including chocolate? May you be happy and successful in your new office!

Leave a Reply

