Conspiracy Theory

11 08 2008

 I decided I spend way to much money on coffee. My daily total at Dunks was at least 6 bucks. That’s just Dunks. 42 freaking bucks a week! 2,184 bucks a year. Holy Shit! Honestly, I never thought of it that way. 

 Last week I decided I needed to cut back. Way back. I knew I had to do it slowly. I decided instead of my medium and (at least) small mocha latte I would just do a small in the morning. If I wanted more coffee I would force myself to wait until I got home and brew a cup of decaf. My plan worked well despite the temptation;

  • Very Friendly Girl in records worked very hard for me last week. I needed several charts pulled and either faxed or put aside for me. She was happy to help and as a small token of my appreciation, I told her I would by her a coffee. By the time I had a moment to do it, it was 2 p.m.. Just about the time I would normally buy my second latte. I walked out with her coffee and her coffee only. Score one for the wallet. 
  • Stupid Starbucks sent me an email telling me you can get a buck off your second coffee of the day. All you have to do is bring in your receipt from the morning. Bastids! I love Starbucks. Their coffee, and mocha lattes in particular, are far superior to Dunks. I avoid them because they are much more expensive. They are taunting me.
  • “Hey Auntie! I’m going to Dunks! You want one?” People seem to be asking me this a lot. “No thanks, I’m all set.”
  • Today, the Room-Mate gave me two coupons for $1 off a medium latte.

 They are all out to get me. I feel pretty confidant I can use the coupons and not relapse. Oh God! I sound like my clients!

 Really though, I hope to be at one Starbucks a week on Fridays. My plan is to switch to a small iced coffee from Dunks first then ween myself off of that. 

 Time will tell.

Actions

Information

10 responses

11 08 2008
Kizz

What is your stance on the homemade go-cup of coffee?

11 08 2008
whodoesshethinksheisanyway

I enjoy the homemade go-cup of coffee but the problem is this; I want it a tad later. If I bring the coffee, it gets cold. I can buy the iced coffee, put the whole thing in the recycled hot cup and keep it cold for me to enjoy at various times of the day. I can, and do, make an iced latte last for hours that way.

11 08 2008
Auntie Teacher

have you heard of thermoses? and all adicts have excuses for why different solutions to quit aren’t working! LOL

11 08 2008
mrschili

Yeah, well, I understand this; just when I decided to try to get better about not eating so many sweeties, ALL the ads I notice are for chocolate or brownies or something decadent at Friendly’s. Ugh.

12 08 2008
twoblueday

I like our “home” coffee so much, I rarely go out for a latte any more.

Recipe: any old commercial coffee; brew in regular old coffee maker; about 1/4 mug of 2% milk microwaved for a minute; pour in coffee (I use large mugs, so it’s really probably a cup-and-a-half of coffee); leave room for flavoring; pour in Torani flavoring syrup (sugar free) caramel, vanilla, almond roca, chocolate. Yummy!

We buy the flavorings at World Market, usually. It’s the exact same stuff you see at the coffee stands.

I’ve noted before that I’ve only been drinking coffee for a few years now, and I’ve really come to enjoy this burst of bioflavanoids and antioxidants in the morning.

12 08 2008
NHFalcon

At the last three stores I’ve worked at I’ve pointed out to my co-workers that it would be a hell of a lot cheaper to just set up a coffee pot in the back room and make our own coffee every morning rather than buy Dunkin’ Donuts or Gloria Jeans or Starbucks or whoever. For those of us, like myself, who just drink coffee, the conversion has worked. For those who need lattes or frappucinos or some other “unmasculine European coffee (quoting Danny Aiello from ‘Hudson Hawk’ there),” the chain shops are the only option.

4-cup coffee pots are pretty cheap, and bigger ones aren’t all that much worse. In one store somebody had a coffee pot lying around at home that they didn’t use anymore, so we ran vinegar through it a few times and the dishwasher a few more times and we were good to go.

Sounds like you need to read Peter King’s “Monday Morning Quarterback” over at Sports Illustrated’s website, Auntie. He has a “coffeenerdness” feature each week. I think you’d get a kick out of it.

I can’t stand Starbucks, myself. Every one I’ve been to has been ridiculously expensive and the coffee has tasted burnt. Of course, Cookiemaker likes to tell me I like my coffee wimpy weak, so maybe that’s just me. I prefer Dunkins’: extra large, hot, regular flavor, regular cream, extra, EXTRA, sugar.

12 08 2008
twoblueday

NHFalcon—- that’s why they call it “Charbucks.” The burnt flavor, that is.

13 08 2008
whodoesshethinksheisanyway

I don’t think it has a burnt flavor, I think it is just strong. You gentlemen wouldn’t like the coffee I brew at home..

15 08 2008
Grammar Snob

I feel for you and applaud your efforts….keep it up!

I’d find somewhere else to spend the money so it wouldn’t save me any, but hopefully you don’t fall into that trap!

18 08 2008
Organic Mama

I love my coffee intense, black and if I can see through it, I don’t drink it. I also really like the stuff I brew at home (Trader Joe’s organic Bolivian) and tend to prefer it to pretty much whatever coffee I encounter, even Starbucks. That said, if I want a pretty decent latte or a mocha, I will gnaw through my lip and spend that obscene amount of money they charge.

Coffee pot in the office sounds like a good idea, although if getting out of the office and using coffee as an excuse to do is the issue, maybe not!

Leave a Reply

