I Held Off As Long As I Could

14 07 2008

 I am not one to brag and I like to think of myself as a simple girl. I don’t have a lot of stuff. For me, less is more. In addition to that, I am not a fan of spending a lot of money on things and when I am about to make a purchases, I always ask myself if I really need the thing I am about to buy. For example, on my last trip to the Old Navy I bought a pair of shorts for $11.99, and two pair of work pants. One at $15.99 and one at $ 7.99. I hate paying full price.

 Have a seat folks, you may not believe what I did.. I bought the iphone. I know, I said I was going to do it. Here is the thing though. Because I just bought a phone in March (because the phone I had was not working properly) I was not eligible for the subsidized price of $199. I was very angry to say the least. The nice girl at the apple store called AT&T for me to try to work something out. When she couldn’t I spoke to them. I said things like “The ad says twice as fast, half the price. No where does it say if you are NOT eligible for a contract upgrade you have to pay $399…. So what you are telling me is that because I have been a customer for about ten years is that I am getting penalized for it. I wouldn’t have stood in line for an hour if I had known that…” I talked to a supervisor. When that didn’t work I asked to speak to another one. The lady said that because of unusually high call volume they would have to call me back within 24 hours. Well AT&T, that wouldn’t have happened if you and Apple were clear in your advertising!! I still haven’t gotten the call.. 

 So what was I to do?!! When I am in trouble with technology I call Mr. Chili. I explained my situation. Do I buy it and fight it or do I wait. At first he said wait and then he got a brilliant idea.

“Buy it! You have 30 days to return it. Check their policy first though to be sure.”

 Great idea Mr. Chili! I bought it and it turns out I have 14 days. Bastids!

 The thing is, I love this phone! I called him the next day and told him that I loved it so much that I just may keep it even if they don’t give me my 200 bucks back. It is the coolest phone ever. My God I love this phone. I can’t believe I am saying that I love a phone.

 TTT tomorrow is going to be about my phone so be prepared!

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 07 2008
mrschili

Isn’t it the bomb?! I knew you’d love it, and I’m going to love being so very connected to you. Now, we just have to figure out how to send picture texts.

14 07 2008
Kizz

Did you buy at an Apple store or an AT&T store? Man, I don’t think I could have taken the leap. Mostly because I KNOW how much I love the phone and I hate to be manipulated by the company because I do.

You’re going to have so much fun with that thing. It’s a glorious piece of technology.

14 07 2008
Laurie B

OK, we are afraid of the technology. Who in the world would want to be that connected to everything? We can barely figure out our alarm clock. Having said that, the new iphone seems to be a valuable toy.
Do we have to be hooked up with a $70.00 per month phone to use it?

We need some advice from user savy friends. Are we too old or is it that good?

Leave a Reply

