Another Blog Worthy Email

26 04 2008

 SLM2 sent this to me;

Dinner guests were sitting around the table discussing life.

 
One man, a CEO, decided to explain the problem with education.
He argued, “What’s a kid going to learn from someone who
decided his best option in life was to become a teacher?”
He reminded the other dinner guests what they say about
teachers: “Those who can, do. Those who can’t, teach.”
 To stress his point he said to another guest;
 “You’re a teacher, Bonnie. Be honest. What do you make?”
 
Bonnie, who had a reputation for honesty and frankness replied,
 “You want to know what I make? (She paused for a second, then began…)
 “Well, I make kids work harder than they ever thought they could.

 I make a C+ feel like the Congressional Medal of Honor.

 I make kids sit through 40 minutes of class time when their
parents can’t make them sit for 5 without an I Pod, Game Cube or movie rental.
 
You want to know what I make?”
(She paused again and looked at each and every person at the table.) 
 
”I make kids wonder.

 I make them question.

 I make them apologize and mean it.

 I make them have respect and take responsibility for their actions.

 I teach them to write and then I make them write. Keyboarding isn’t everything.

 I make them read, read, read.

 I make them show all their work in math. They use their God given brain.
 
 I make my students from other countries learn everything they need  to know in English while preserving their unique cultural identity.

 I make my classroom a place where all my students feel safe.

 I make my students stand, placing their hand over their heart to say  the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag, One Nation Under God, because we live in the United States of America.

Finally, I make them understand that if they use the gifts they
were given, work hard, and follow their hearts, they can succeed in life.”(Bonnie paused one last time and then continued.)

 “Then, when people try to judge me by what I make, with me knowing money isn’t everything, I can hold my head up high and pay no attention because they are ignorant… You want to know what I make?

 I MAKE A DIFFERENCE. What do you make Mr. CEO?”

 His jaw dropped, he went silent.
 

Actions

Information

6 responses

26 04 2008
mrschili

Auntie, this is actually a rip-off of a poem by one of my heroes, Taylor Mali. I well up in tears EVERY TIME I see it. Go here:

to see for yourself how much better it is when he does it….

This is one of my FAVORITE of his works. I love the “I wish he hadn’t done that… asked me to be honest because you see, I have a policy about honesty and ass-kicking which is if you ask me for it, I have to let you have it.”

I’m proud to be a teacher, and I love having this man stand up in public and represent the work that I do.

26 04 2008
Laurie B

I’d read this somewhere else as well. Not to say that your teacher friend didn’t mean every word of what she said. Teachers are having a tough time of teaching to the tests.

It doesn’t help that each and every school budget in the Western part of our state (and probably every state) has been walloped by increased costs, for whatever reasons. The costs go up and the test scores stay the same. I do not blame the teachers. They receive little or no financial support to run their programs. It’s not “No Child Left Behind” it’s more like “Every Child left Behind”.

Here goes. Somebody will be pissed. Thanks for letting me rant a little. A family with three special needs kids moved into a town close to us and they are opting to have all three kids placed in our small town school system..to the tune of $175,000 per kid. I’ve got to wonder what that does to our educational system. Wouldn’t individualized home schooling perhaps be a better option?

Question #1 to the parents..Why have more kids? One kid with special needs is enough. OK, that one was a baby and you got preggers again. Then you went on and had another. Now you want housing for the family and education for the kids because you were fertile? UHHM. NO. Being fertile doesn’t always mean good things for your progeny OR society.

I feel for the kids but when do the parents stop seeing these kids as a free ride? Sure, I want what will work well for their kids but not at the cost of bankrupting the education of every kid in town or the over taxing of the many people in town that are trying to live on a flat income. Where is the line?

Mrschilli and SLM2, fill me in, what is this world looking like for you as teachers at what ever grade level? MY BEW has had a “stupid group from hell” this semester. One half of them come in to class and put their heads down and sleep. BEW teaches a class in which each student must get a C or better to finish their degree. The students act like they don’t care. Most of them will be seeing her again a year from now or they will have failed and dropped out.

A final shout out, if any of you have a chance to see “Young@Heart” do so. It will move you to tears of both the sad and happy sort. It’s a documentary of a choir here in Happy Valley. The members average 79 or 80 in age and they rock. The scene filmed at the local prison when they choir sings “Forever Young” had the inmates in tears. See it if you can.

Auntie, again, thank you.

27 04 2008
Julie

Can you people answer a question? Why is it that our school system seems to be slipping far behind many other countries ?

27 04 2008
whodoesshethinksheisanyway

Julie, I think the answer to your question is we just don’t value education. We say we do but we don’t. If we did, teachers would have the things they need to educate our kids. Like, I don’t know, BOOKS!
My friend who is a teacher showed up at her new school on the first day to prepare her class room. She came home and told me there were no books. No books! She then went out and bought a couple of hundred dollars worth of school supplies. Paper, pencils, stuff like that. With her own money. My friend places a high value on education, unfortunately, her school system does not.

27 04 2008
Auntie Teacher

Thanks for posting this! I agree! We make a difference, whether we are giving the supplies or salaries…that’s the value of teachers.

28 04 2008
Laurie B

If I had to list the most important people in my life, some of my middle and high school teachers are in the top eight. Those years were about critical thinking and yet we( just as a society) keep taking away. As adults, we will never be as smart or as open to learning (as a society) than we were then.

The next smartest group has to be older students (the non-trads) geting back into the grind of college for a good reason.

Bottom line, teachers (here anyway) make good wages but teaching to the tests is just taking the heart and soul of what they do right out of them.

The kids and this society deserve more. Quit paying for the wars and let’s hope our dollars support education. Fat chance, that.

Leave a Reply

