Ten Things Tuesday

22 04 2008

 Ten things about my research paper that is due tomorrow;

1. Religion and Psychology is a difficult topic. It has been emotionally exhausting to write.

2. I have had a difficult time writing about what conservative Christians have to say about homosexuality. They say homosexuality is “unnatural”. Writing about it being “unnatural” felt unnatural. And icky.

3. I am profoundly grateful that I was not raised in a religious household. The coming out process would have been more difficult than it already was.

4. I have several friends who were raised Catholic. For most of them, it is still very difficult to talk about. My friends, who are in their mid to late thirties, continue to struggle with their relationship with God. Although I believe that everything happens for a reason and that people are exactly where they need to be, I wish the spiritual road was a little less bumpy for them.

5. Some people still believe that homosexuality is a mental disorder than can be, and should be cured. They call it “reparative” or “conversion” therapy. Ugh

6.

7. I continue to believe that every person has a right to believe what they want to believe. My feeling is if it works for you, great! I do have a problem with people pushing their beliefs on to other people and trying to make them wrong, especially to the point where it can cause another person harm. It has been said that gay and lesbian teens are twice as likely to attempt suicide than their straight peers. I’m not ok with that.

8. There are so many things that the bible says that people just don’t follow or care about anymore. The following video illustrates my point;

I continue to wonder why some people dig their heals in over this issue. What are they so afraid of?

9. I have heard and read over and over again that although some Christians don’t approve of gay and lesbian people, they do love us. I’m sorry, but no one who loves me has ever said I should be ashamed of my sexuality, that they won’t accept me for who I am, that I should try to change who I am.

10. I continue to believe in creation. God created the whole ball of wax. He/she is the big guy/gal. I believe, very firmly, that if God didn’t want there to be homosexuality, there simply would not be homosexuality. I feel like people who say otherwise are questioning God’s “power”. What? It’s a choice you say? Why don’t you go ahead and try to be gay for a day and see how that works out for ya. Go ahead, I’ll wait. We can talk about this whole choice thing then.

 

Actions

Information

7 responses

22 04 2008
Kizz

A guy I worked with in MI (straight, religious) met another colleague (gay, religious) there and now considers him his best friend…but he’s said that he thinks his best friend is going to hell. I just don’t get how those 2 thoughts can live in the same person.

22 04 2008
mrschili

I saw the first video over at Tom’s place, and laughed out loud at the end (“Shut Uh-UP!”).

Kizz, the first (of many) things that turned me off of Mel Gibson was when he said in an interview that he was so sorry that his non-Catholic wife was going to hell. I just stopped listening after that.

I have a hard enough time figuring shit out for MYSELF. I’m certainly not qualified to tell anyone else what THEY should (or should not) be doing.

That is one of my most favorite WW clips, Auntie. “THAT’S how I beat him.”

22 04 2008
Kizz

Ditto on Mel.

22 04 2008
Laurie B

Hey Auntie! GREAT post!

Totally with you on #3 I came out in my early twenties but my parents told me that they knew when I was three that I was a baby dyke, even then! , #6 my gene pool..in my generation of Dad’s side, 6 cousins of us cousins, 3 out and proud, 1 closeted, one happy straight and one very unhappy straight. Yippee..let’s here it for gene pool (until it hits medical insurance disqualifications for other genetic issues. Here’s hoping gay isn’t one of them). Loved #8, I don’t watch much tv but may save that for Bro in law that sees himself as a conservative type preacher.

Almost entirely there (I am quite sure that any God is a fact or fallacy of dis-inclusion though some church communities are working on it). Having said that, if the deity being thingy were something more than illusion, then yes, totally there.

Thanks, your post made my day.

22 04 2008
whodoesshethinksheisanyway

Chili- I love the part where they start to talk about twins. The twin pops up and say hi. I love the way he says hi. I am bothered a bit by the stereotypes though. The chick has a chip on her shoulder and the guy is a fem. Not all gay people are like that. Ugh. As far as the west wing clip, did anybody pick up on the significance of the chick sitting, then he “makes” her get up?
Laurie- I’m glad I made your day! Cool. And my mom claimed to know the second I was born..

22 04 2008
Mrs. G.

One of the major reasons I shy away from organized religion, is the selective interpretation regarding homosexuality. It’s so lame and selfish and unloving.

24 04 2008
Laurie B

Yeah, I got the “make you stand up part”. It was cool and also an abuse of power. If you have to have power over such a small thing, is it really that important? In the vernacular, that was pissing on ants and a bad use of power. Powerful enough but really, just ask her to stand and have a discussion.

Leave a Reply

