Sowing the Seeds With Love

13 04 2008

  I love caprece. It’s best with cherry tomatoes which are my favorite. Over the winter I told the room mate I was going too grow tomatoes and basil. I asked her if we could get a cow so all of my caprece would be super fresh and raised by me. She said we could. I think she was joking though.

I planted some cherry tomatoes and basil yesterday. I put them in the mini greenhouse thing you can buy. They are in the window above the sink. They get a lot of sun there. I got the package of seeds for both so I can do the whole thing myself.

 I want to know a couple of things. First, why are there so many seeds in a package? If I planted that many seeds I would have enough basil and tomatoes for the whole town! Second, how many should you plant? I know from experience that one cherry tomato plant will yield about 50 million tomatoes. A few summers back I planted two. I was so sick of cherry tomatoes by the end of the season. Anyway, I planted four of each. I figured at least one would make it. If they all make it, does anyone want a cherry tomato and or a basil plant?

 Like a dork, I checked in on them today to see if anybody popped up yet. I know this is not possible. It’s really got me itching to garden though. I want to start flowers. Auntie Teacher tells me every year I should wait until mothers day. She’s right. The chance of frost is still very likely around here.

Actions

Information

4 responses

13 04 2008
mrschili

You know how to make mozzarella?

I’m not sure why there are so many seeds in a package. I’ll take whatever you’ve got leftover, though – the girls are itching to start a garden, too – they’ve already bought pea-pod seeds, and are excited to get it going. We’re waiting until Mother’s day – I’m still not convinced it’s not going to snow.

I would love to have herbs growing in my kitchen; I’m pretty sure I’ve got some oregano seeds in a drawer somewhere. I may do a little indoor planting later today…

13 04 2008
whodoesshethinksheisanyway

No Chili, I don’t know how to make mozzarella. I can learn though.

13 04 2008
mrschili

Isn’t that what you wanted the cows for? And are you going to bring me your extra seeds?

13 04 2008
whodoesshethinksheisanyway

Yes, that’s why I wanted the cow, yes, I will bring you the seeds!

Leave a Reply

