Just some random stuff

8 02 2008

 I was sitting on the couch doing homework when there was a knock on the door. It was the roommates mom. I yelled for her to come in, put my book down and wondered why she would be coming up. The rent was paid, and the trash was out and the barrels put away. She never asks me to shovel the snow, I just do it. Besides there really wasn’t enough to bother with. Well, dear readers, she was up to give me something. ” I made some brownies for you kids!” She said. I love it when she calls us “kids”.  Anyway, she has no idea that I am allergic to chocolate. She knows I love chocolate though. I didn’t have the heart to tell her. I thanked her, gave her a hug and off she went.

 I will eat the brownies. I have not have hives for almost two days. I only had a chocolate chip cookie on Tuesday and that was after I got them. Wednesday, no chocolate, hives anyway. No hives last night and I had a bowl of ice-cream. I have not had a mocha latte since Monday. I doubt that the hives are from the chocolate. I am wondering if it may be some sort of hormonal thing as I seem to get them the worst when it’s that time of the month. I will talk to the doc about it on Monday..

 Yesterday I called the PO and left her a voice-mail about when I will be available for lunch next week. She has not called me back yet…

 I chose a topic for my research paper. I originally went with Religion and Psychology but the Professor said someone else was doing something similar. I then suggested Religion and Sexuality. He said that would be fine. I am having a hard time deciding exactly what to write about. I could just do homosexuality but I want to compare it with the churches views on heterosexual relationships as well. What I would really like to do is both but from different denominations. I was thinking UU, Catholic and Jewish. I have lots of ideas and could make this damn paper 200 pages long. I want to do interviews with church leaders as well as church members. I did a quick google search on “Religion and Sexuality” but didn’t come up with much. I’m planning on going to the library this week. Has anybody read any books on this topic? Oh, and I am on the lookout for a really cool church to take a picture of to put on the cover of my paper. I LOVE churches! Did you know that about me? There is something about the architecture that sucks me in. I went to the Washington National Cathedral and could have stayed in there all day just looking around. Tried to upload a picture, it didn’t work!??? Sorry.

Actions

Information

8 responses

8 02 2008
mrschili

So, wait – are you, or are you not, allergic to chocolate?

I bet Laurie B would be willing to engage you in a conversation about this – I believe she’s a member of the clergy (though I could be wrong about that, but a dim bit of memory tells me that I’m not). You could also speak to the current minister of the church where Mr. Chili and I were married; that denomination has a pretty accepting view about homosexuality (at least, that’s what their ads say). I know a couple of people who could speak to the Jewish angle; if you want the contacts, let me know.

The only really pretty church in our neighborhood (as far as I’m concerned) is the one in which Mr. Chili and I were married. There are a couple of nice Catholic churches in our town, too, but I love the old New England look of the DCC..

8 02 2008
whodoesshethinksheisanyway

I am allergic to chocolate, just not sure if it’s causing the hives..

Thanks for the leads, let’s talk about it.

9 02 2008
Kizz

If it isn’t causing the hives then there are no symptoms so how can you be allergic? This concept disturbs me very much and I need to be walked through it hand in hand.

The church in Market Square in P’mouth is pretty awesome.

9 02 2008
whodoesshethinksheisanyway

Kizz- Everything I am allergic to, dogs, cats, maple, dust mites, mold, and chocolate, I have a very mild reaction. For example, in the fall I only sometimes get itchy eyes. I have NEVER had any issues being around dogs and cats. Never. So thats why I don’t think it’s the chocolate.
Blood work comes back Monday. I’ll let you know more then.

9 02 2008
Laurie B

Hi Auntie,

This got a little long, sorry.

I’m flattered ( I think) that mrschili would think that I’m clergy, but I’m not. Not even close. I am really so far the other side of agnostic that I think the heathens are wrong too.

Having said that, my best friends are ordained U.C.C.-Congregational pastors or Episcopal priests. Go figure. Somehow or another we are good company for each other!

BEW is a member (and I was for a pretty good stretch of time) of a very liberal UCC church here in Happy Valley. This church was the 8th UCC church in the US to become an “open and affirming” church. That was close to 25 years ago.

There are many retired clergy of other denominations that are active members in our church and I can think of several of them that would have the resource information that you might be looking for and would be happy to help you find your way through this project.

As a church group, the congregation is wonderful and caring and honest with themselves. Last I knew, there were over 100 people in the “Doubters” group. They talk, and think. It’s a wonderful combination. If it weren’t for the religious mumbo jumbo, I’d go more often.

Having said that, I’ll probably go with BEW to church on Sunday. We have just hired a new minister and I’d like to know more about her perspective and preaching style. So I’ll go in with ears and heart open, I just won’t say the things that I don’t believe.

Anyway, if you’d like to talk with my clergy friends just email me and I’ll get you in touch with them. They rock, they really do.

12 02 2008
Sooza

I know I am late off the block, but how about checking into the Espiscopal Church/Anglican Church? I have a really dear friend who is gay and a priest who keeps me updated on the issues. The EC/AC has been having a pretty intense few years around issues of homosexuality, ever since the openly gay priest from NH was elevated to the bishopric. Gene somebody? Anyway, lots of material there.

Good luck!

12 02 2008
Laurie B

Bishop Rowen is either a complete prophet/jerk, depending on your point of view. He’s always been anti- gay and now he’s being hounded for saying that Muslim rules should be included. Go figure..the liberals hate him and the far right Christians hate him. He must be a Brit. Maybe he should just go eat worms.

You’ve had so many responses about your paper. Choose anybody to chat with and you’ll have a paper. I kind of laid it out there…where are you with all of this..the church stuff?

12 02 2008
Laurie B

Oh, I’d like to add that Bishop Gene Robinson of NH was the bishop that was elected and has been the source of Bishop Rowen’s hemorrhoids, and the same goes for most of the sub-South African contingent. Sorry to say that in the Anglican contingent, those good Christian men (with the local custom and church approval) that raping a virgin cures your HIV. That is the group that Bishop Rowen is courting, and they are going to be a major factor in the future of the Anglican ( Episcopal) church.

Now, there’s a paper for you.

Leave a Reply

