Another Birthday!

22 01 2008

charlie_brown_lucy_football_2.jpg 

Today is Auntie Teachers birthday! Auntie Teacher is one of my best buds. She is one of the smartest people I know and she uses that smartness to educate the freshman at a local high school. The kids love her! Want to know how I know? Because we can’t go anywhere without some 14-18 year old kid yelling ” Hi Auntie Teacher!” and waving frantically. It makes me feel like I need to be on my best behavior when I am with her. I have never actually sat in on one of her classes, however I have been in her classroom and it is filled with thoughtful and interesting work by her students. Have you ever tried to get a fourteen year old to do thoughtful and interesting work? It isn’t easy. She truly cares about the kids she teaches  both in the classroom and out of it. She is always volunteering to do something extra whether it’s coaching, running the GSA or selling tickets at the football game. Last spring she decided to coach the freshman girls tennis team. At the time she was teaching night school and had another part-time job in addition to her full time position at the high school. I was concerned she was taking on to much and asked her about it. “But Auntie,” she said ” they don’t have anyone else to do it. If I don’t do it, they won’t be able to play!” If anyone gives for the sake of giving, it’s her.

 Auntie Teacher is a political genius. She knows more about politics then anyone I know.  How she knows all the stuff she does is beyond me. She is happy (and quick) to debate anyone at anytime. If you choose to debate her, you will walk away knowing a lot more about politics then when you started. And passionate too. Her passion for politics and social issues is infectious. She will have you caring about social issues you didn’t even know existed.

 She is one of the kindest people I have ever met. She is quick to lend a hand to anyone who needs it. She once made me stop the car so she could help an elderly lady get her shopping bags in to her car. 

 Some more interesting things about Auntie Teacher; she proudly served in the U.S. Air-force. If your airplane is broken, she can fix it for you! She has traveled all over the world, she loves animals and when walking down the street she will stop to say hello to every dog she sees. She is a GREAT cook, she loves to read and is always sharing books. She is wicked funny, outgoing and thoughtful. She has a style that is all her own and she has the most beautiful blue eyes. If she loves you, she loves you well. If anyone dares to say something negative about you, she will defend your honor in an instant. She is goofy, absentminded and at times spacey. She will probably forget your birthday or get so caught up in what she is doing that she forgets to return your call. It doesn’t matter though because of all the wonderful qualities about her. You can never be mad at her. Ever.

 Happy Birthday Auntie Teacher! I love you!

Photo credit

Actions

Information

5 responses

22 01 2008
Laurie B

What a loving and wonderful post about Auntie Teacher. I hope she has a Very Happy Birthday and another great trip around the sun. How lucky you are to have her in your life!

22 01 2008
mrschili

Yep – that’s her, alright! Every word is true.

I miss her and wish we saw more of her.

Happy Birthday, Sweetie! We still love you!!

22 01 2008
Kizz

Happy Birthday!

22 01 2008
Auntie Teacher

Thank you so much for your lengthy praise of me. I have to admit I’m a little embarassed, but appreciative. I needed a boost to my ego this week. You are a true friend as well, which you showed again this weekend. I love you and treasure your friendship.

31 08 2008
Auntie Teacher! « Who does she think she is anyway?

[…]  Not only is she smart, but she is very funny, kind, and giving. Oh wait, you can read all about her here. […]

Leave a Reply

