Birthdays

9 01 2008

I have several friends who are celebrating birthdays this month. My sister, Mrs. Chili, Kizz (HAPPY BIRTHDAY today!!), two of my exes (I will call them Auntie Teacher and Mrs. Ex), and my friend who is 1/2 of my favorite “married” lesbian couple. I’ll call her “Super Lesbo Mom #1″ or SLM1 for short. Her wife will be referred to as SLM2.

Anyway, some of these woman in my life have been struggling with the number. This is not something I have had to deal with and really, I think it is in part because of a card my sister gave me 4 or 5 years ago. This card has been on my fridge since the day I received it (although I just moved and it isn’t up now) and it serves as a GREAT reminder. It goes something like this; ” Sometimes a birthday isn’t our favorite time of year. We look in the mirror and wonder ‘Who is this older woman who suddenly appeared?’ Welcome her. She brings gifts of perspective and insight. She is your finest accomplishment. So far.”

I truly believe the message in that card. ” Your greatest accomplishment. So far.” How cool is that! Here are some cool birthday quotes I found.

No wise man ever wished to be younger. – Jonathan Swift

One of the signs of passing youth is the birth of a sense of fellowship with other human beings as we take our place among them. – Virginia Woolf

A birthday is just the first day of another 365-day journey around the sun. Enjoy the trip. – Author unknown

The more you praise and celebrate your life, the more there is in life to celebrate. – Oprah Winfrey

My message to all the fabulous woman in my life, as well as anyone who reads this, is this; welcome the “new you” your birthday brings and think about what your next accomplishments will be. And remember, it’s just a number.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 01 2008
Kizz

I do and will deal. It’s not usually a problem for me but for some reason this year it’s a little harder. Thanks for helping me deal.

9 01 2008
mrschili

GREAT quotes! Thanks for this post.

I’m not struggling with my number, though I do have to admit to a little sadness at its being the last of my 30s. My 30s have been, really, the best years of my life, and I’ll be sad to see them go. I hope and suspect, though, that excitement for the adventures of my 40s will overshadow any trepidation I feel as I bid goodbye to the 30s…

Leave a Reply

